Univerity of Minnesota Duluth Logo

ECS – Land Type Associations

MN Dept. of Natural Resources, US Forest Service
As Needed
, , , ,

This data layer depicts the Ecological Classification System (ECS) Land Type Associations. It was developed by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources and the US Forest Service. The ECS has four nested, hierarchical levels: Provinces, Sections, Subsections, and Land Type Associations. Different combinations of biological and environmental factors define the unique areas within these levels. Land Type Associations are the smallest unit. There are 291 nested within the Subsections. They can give context to ecological processes at a small scale.

Get Data Get Metadata Launch Map