Univerity of Minnesota Duluth Logo

ECS – Provinces

MN Dept. of Natural Resources, US Forest Service
As Needed
, , , ,

This data layer depicts the Ecological Classification System (ECS) Provinces. It was developed by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources and the US Forest Service. The ECS has four nested, hierarchical levels: Provinces, Sections, Subsections, and Land Type Associations. Different combinations of biological and environmental factors define the unique areas within these levels. Provinces are the largest unit and there are four within the state. They can give context to ecological processes at a large scale.

Get Data Get Metadata Launch Map