Univerity of Minnesota Duluth Logo

ECS – Subsections

MN Dept. of Natural Resources, US Forest Service
As Needed
, , , ,

This data layer depicts the Ecological Classification System (ECS) Subsections. It was developed by the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources and the US Forest Service. The ECS has four nested, hierarchical levels: Provinces, Sections, Subsections, and Land Type Associations. Different combinations of biological and environmental factors define the unique areas within these levels. Subsections are the second smallest unit and there are 26 nested within the Sections in Minnesota. They can give context to ecological processes at a medium scale.

Get Data Get Metadata Launch Map